Minutes	
Annual General Meeting 23 June 2023 7:00pm AEST Via Zoom	

## Attendees (in person and by phone):

Nathan Kennedy, Benedict Coyne, Nicholas Stewart, Anna Kerr, Jarrah Ekstein, Inez Votta-Stawell, Eugene White, Kathryn Cramp, John Birrell, Katherine Hinton, Scott Cosgriff, Angus M, Kerry Weste, Megan Healy, Esther Pearson, Anthony Photiadis, Sera Mirzabegian, Raff Piccolo, Hector Sharpe, Tamsin Clarke and Madeleine Bridgett.

# President -Welcome, acknowledgement of Country

ALHR President began the meeting by by acknowledging the Traditional Custodians of the lands from which we all join this evening as the first people of this country, and pay my respects to Elders past and present.

ALHR is a national organisation and tonight we all have our feet firmly planted on lands that have never been ceded.

I want to acknowledge the pain that so many First Nations people continue to feel following the outcome of the referendum on a voice to parliament. I express ALHR's determination to walk as an ally toward Treaty, truth-telling and meaningful self determination.

Finally, I express ALHR's solidarity with First Nations advocates and reiterate our enduring commitment to do all that we can to elevate First Nations-led advocacy for solutions to human rights violations in Australia.

## 2. Apologies:

none

## 3. Minutes

- minutes of the ALHR AGM held on 27 June 2022 were prestned and approved
- These have been distributed with the AGM documents so I move that the be approved.
- If someone who was present at the AGM can please discord this motion.

# 4. Reports formally presented from the ALHR Executive, including the financial report pursuant to the ALHR rules

Kerry moves motion to receive the

- Treasurer's Report,
- the Secretary's Report and
- the President's Report.

#### Anna seconded the moton

#### Kerry spoke briefly to the President's report

I won't indulge myself by reading out the president's report but I do hope that you will all take the time to read it.

Briefly, I would like to extend my utmost gratitude to each and every person who has made voluntary contributions to ALHR over the past twelve months. Every moment so generously given enables our wonderful organisation to continue to stand up for human rights and the rule of law in Australia.

I must also acknowledge how incredibly fortunate I am to be supported by a diverse Executive Management Committee and National Committee of extremely talented and dedicated individuals. Each of them volunteer their time, on top of busy day-jobs and other life-responsibilities, and all have worked tirelessly, to the very best of their capacity, in order to increase the profile of ALHR nationwide and the impact of our work both locally, nationally and internationally.

In this regard special thanks go out to my fellow elected executives

• Vice President Nicholas Stewart, Treasurer Katherine Hinton and secretary Anna Kennet Your work is so vital to ALHR and I am incredibly grateful to be supported by you.

I am thrilled to receive your respective nominations for another term in your roles.

I also extend sincere thanks to EMC members Georgia Burke, Dr Natalia Sza-blew-ska, Valerie Heath, Anthony Hallal and Andrea Rogers for their work on the EMC throughout the past year. Anthony and Andrea are stepping down for the coming year due to the demands of their paid jobs, so I extend my very best wishes to them and look forward to their ongoing engagement as active members of ALHR.

I am grateful to receive Georgia, Valerie and Natalia's nominations for another term as Ordinary Members for Governance. I am also excited to receive three new nominations from Dr Tania Penovic, Stephanie Lee and Sophie Leaver; all of whom have invaluable and diverse human rights expertise and will be an incredible asset in ensuring ALHR maintains robust internal governance processes.

I acknowledge and thank all of the co-chairs, youth chairs and deputy chairs of ALHR's 11 thematic subcommittees for their immense contributions over the past year. I very much look forward to the publication of ALHR's yearly activity report which will enable us to detail and acknowledge the significant impact of their work, and their highly valued individual contributions, in a much more meaningful way.

I also acknowledge our wonderful state and territory convenors, who have endured a particularly difficult time throughout the pandemic and the return to a new normal. I also look forward to providing a detailed outline of their amazing work in the forthcoming ALHR Annual Report.

Finally, I wish to express ALHR's most profound and sincere thanks to our media manager Matt Mitchell who is stepping away after many years nurturing and supporting the national committee. Matt will be most dearly missed. He always goes absolutely above and beyond for ALHR and has truly been an incredible asset to this organisation. On behalf of all national committee members who have had the pleasure of working with Matt I extend thanks and heartfelt best wishes as he embarks on a new chapter as a full time journalism lecturer, moulding the minds of the next generation!

I am excited to nominate for a fifth and final year as ALHR President and really look forward to working with you all over the coming months.

# 5. office bearers for the forthcoming year were elected

Kerry moved that nominations received be accepted - Anna seconded

## office bearers have been elected as follows:

- President: Kerry Weste
- Vice President: Nicholas Stewart
- Treasurer: Katherine Hinton
- Secretary: Anna Kennett

# Ordinary Members EMC (x6)

- 1. Valerie Heath
- 2. Dr Natalia Szablewska
- 3. Georgia Burke
- 4. Dr Tania Penovic
- 5. Stephanie Lee
- 6. Sophie Leaver

# Confirm Nominees from state and territory committees:

- 1. ACT: Akhila Sambhara
- 2. New South Wales: Stepanie Lee and Sophie Leaver
- 3. Northern Territory: Vacant
- 4. Queensland: Ella Furlong
- 5. South Australia: Anna Kennett
- 6. Tasmania: Johanna Bryne
- 7. Victoria: Vacant
- 8. Western Australia: ; Zubayr Abrahams; Dr Jackie Mapulanga and Melissa Robinson

## Confirm appointments to thematic subcommittees

- 1. Business and Human Rights: Senior Co-Chairs Dr Natalia Szablewska and Lara Douvartzidis, Youth Chair Milli Jones
- 2. Child Rights: Kerry Weste
- 3. Disability Rights: Natalie Wade;
- 4. Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: Dr Katherine Fallah and Anika Basset
- 5. Freedoms: Valerie Health
- 6. Human Right Act(s); Dayne Retnolds & Kate Gauld
- 7. Indigenous Rights: Johanna Byrne
- 8. LGBTIQA+ Rights: Nicholas Stewart; Georgia Burke
- 9. Refugees: Jessica Bayley; Caitlin Caldwell
- 10. Women and Girls: Dr Tania Penovic
- 11. Environment and Human Rights Annika Reynolds, Eleanor Sondergeld, Melanie Moltalburne

6. Any other business - no other business.Kerry Thanks attendees.Nicholas thanked Kerry on behalf of national committee