

# **ALHR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2024**

## August 2024

### SECRETARY'S REPORT

### 1. Membership of ALHR

- (a) ALHR launched paid membership in April 2015. There are now six categories of membership, following the addition of the monthly supporter category.
- (b) Membership has begun to increase and rebound after a period of instability following the COVID-19 pandemic although the current cost of living crisis is having an impact.
- (c) Membership for 2024 year currently stands at 1676 and we have 4824 active subscribers/supporters

#### 2. Social Media

- (a) Facebook: 7300 followers
- (b) Twitter 6312 followers
- (c) Instagram- launched in 2022 736 followers
- (d) LinkedIn 2920 Page + 1,275 group (transitioning to the page) President Account 6,500
- 3. Membership of National Committee AGM held June 2023 following people were elected to ALHR's Executive Management Committee at that meeting:

President: Kerry Weste

Vice President: Nicholas Stewart
Treasurer: Katherine Hinton
Secretary: Anna Kennett.

# Ordinary Members EMC (x6)

- 1. Valerie Heath
- 2. Dr Natalia Szablewska
- 3. Georgia Burke
- 4. Stephanie Lee
- 5. Sophie Leaver

#### 6. Dr Tania Penovic

## State and territory committees for 2023/2024:

- 1. ACT: Jessica Elliott
- 2. New South Wales: Sophie Leaver, Stephanie Lee, Grace Cameron-Lee, Andrew Banks
- 3. Northern Territory: Isobel Milnes
- 4. Queensland: Ella Furlong
- 5. South Australia: Anna Kennett
- 6. Tasmania: Johanna Bryne
- 7. Victoria: Vacant
- 8. Western Australia: Zubayr Abrahams, Dr Jackie Mapulanga

# Thematic subcommittees

- 1. Business and Human Rights: Senior Co-Chairs Dr Natalia Szablewska and Lara Douvartzidis, Youth Chair Millie Jones
- 2. Child Rights: Kerry Weste
- 3. Disability Rights: Natalie Wade; Harry Rutner; Eugenie Smith
- 4. Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: vacant Anika Basset; Dr Katherine Fallah
- 5. Freedoms: Valerie Health
- 6. Human Right Act; Kate Gould; Dayne Kingsford
- 7. Indigenous Rights: Johanna Byrne
- 8. LGBTI: Nicholas Stewart; Georgia Burke
- 9. Refugees: Jessica Bayley; Caitlin Caldwell
- 10. Women and Girls: Senior Co-Chairs, Dr Tania Penovik, Dr Amira Atfab, Deputy Chairs, Dr Jane Alver, Tracy Cole
- 11. Environment and Human Rights Senior Co-Chairs Annika Reynolds and Melanie Montalban

Anna Kennett, Secretary and Kerry Weste President. ALHR Secretary

25 August 2024