

# **ALHR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2023**

## 26 June 2023

#### SECRETARY'S REPORT

#### 1. Membership of ALHR

- (a) ALHR launched paid membership in April 2015. There are now six categories of membership, following the addition of the monthly supporter category.
- (b) Membership has begun to increase and rebound after a period of instability during the first two years of the COVID-19 pandemic likely to have impacted renewals.
- (c) Membership for 2023 year currently stands at 1176

#### 2. Social Media

- (a) Facebook: 7,287 followers
- (b) Twitter 6,208 followers
- (c) Instagram- launched in 2022 504 followers
- (d) LinkedIn 1,404 Page + 1,275 group (transitioning to the page) President Account 6,500

#### Facebook Breakdown

Melbourne, VIC, Australia	1,305
Sydney, NSW, Australia	1,249
Brisbane, QLD, Australia	647
Perth, WA, Australia	358
Adelaide, SA, Australia	353
Canberra, ACT, Australia	249
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia	121
Newcastle, NSW, Australia	67
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia	62
Darwin, NT, Australia	60

Australia	5,931
Pakistan	173
United States	132
United Kingdom	113
India	75
Indonesia	74
Bangladesh	53
Canada	44
New Zealand	39
Germany	28

3. Membership of National Committee AGM held on 27 June 2022 following people were elected to ALHR's Executive Management Committee at that meeting:

• President: Kerry Weste

Vice President: Nicholas Stewart
Treasurer: Katherine Hinton
Secretary: Anna Kennett.

## Ordinary Members EMC (x6)

- 1. Valerie Heath
- 2. Dr Natalia Szablewska
- 3. Georgia Burke
- 4. Anthony Hallal
- 5. Andrea Rogers
- 6. Vacant

### State and territory committees:

- 1. ACT: Sophie Trevitt and Jessica Elliott
- 2. New South Wales: Sarah Battril and Talya Jaffe
- 3. Northern Territory: Isobel Milnes
- 4. Queensland: Ella Furlong
- 5. South Australia: Anna Kennett
- 6. Tasmania: Johanna Bryne
- 7. Victoria: Vacant
- 8. Western Australia: Georgia Kalyniuk; Zubayr Abrahams

#### Thematic subcommittees

- 1. Business and Human Rights: Senior Co-Chairs Dr Natalia Szablewska and Lara Douvartzidis, Youth Chair Milli Jones
- 2. Child Rights: Kerry Weste
- 3. Disability Rights: Natalie Wade;
- 4. Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: vacant recruitment underway
- 5. Freedoms: Valerie Health
- 6. Human Right Act; Naomi Gould;
- 7. Indigenous Rights: Johanna Byrne
- 8. LGBTI: Nicholas Stewart; Georgia Burke
- 9. Refugees: Jessica Bayley; Caitlin Caldwell
- 10. Women and Girls: Senior Co-Chairs, Cassandra Bourke Tania Penovik, Assistant Chair Elaine Stops
- 11. Environment and Human Rights Senior Co-Chairs Huong Tran, Chris Caskey, Fia Hamid-Walker, Youth Chairs, Annika Reynolds and Claudia Hodge

Anna Kennett ALHR Secretary 25 June 2023