

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 29 April 2019 at 7:00pm AEST

Join Zoom Meeting https://us04web.zoom.us/j/547785949

One tap mobile +61871501149,,547785949# Australia +61280152088,,547785949# Australia

Dial by your location +61 8 7150 1149 Australia +61 2 8015 2088 Australia Meeting ID: 547 785 949 Find your local number: <u>https://us04web.zoom.us/u/fdAhGaZ1Qv</u> Please contact your local State or Territory convenors if you wish to attend in person.

1. Attendance

Nathan Kennedy; Natalie Wade; Kerry Weste; Katherine Hinton; Madeleine Bridgett; Emma Phillips; Eugene White; Kate Marchesi; Alexandra Lontos; Rita Shackel; Bethany Moore; Anthony Hallal; Khanh Hoang; Alexandra Bishop; John Southalan; Nicholas Stewart; Naomi Gould; Allison Ballard; Sangeeta Sharmin; Nameeta Chandra; Sarah Schwartz; Manny Zhang; Inez Botta-Stanwell; Anthony Sidney G Photiadis; Georgia Burke;

2. Apologies

Adaena Sinclair-Blakemore; Angela Wilson; Angus Murray; Anneke Bossard

3. To Confirm the Minutes of Annual General Meeting of the Association held on 30 April 2018.

Kerry Weste moved, Eugene Seconded. Motion passed.

4. To receive the reports from the Executive, including financial report pursuant to the Rules.

Kerry Weste moved to receive the reports and Nathan Kennedy seconded. Motion passed.

Kerry spoke to her president's report. Formally acknowledged Jarrah's work on the National Committee for the last 6 or 7 years and recent work at vice president. Acknowledged Natalie Wade's work as acting vice president since February. Special thanks to Katherine Hinton as treasurer. Acknowledged Nathan Kennedy and his very significant contribution as he is stepping down as secretary today. Looking forward to working with Sangeeta Sharmin as incoming secretary if elected.

Specific acknowledgement of Nicholas, Khanh and Madeleine on EMC.

Now have 10 thematic sub-committees. In next 10 days we will publish a report on work of all sub-committees.

Also acknowledge our state and territory convenors and Matt, our media manager.

- 5. To elect office bearers and ordinary members of the National Committee:
 - I. President
 - II. Vice President
 - III. Secretary
 - IV. Treasurer
 - V. Six (6) Ordinary Members.

Kerry Weste moved that late nominations be accepted. Eugene seconded, motion passed.

All office bearers elected without opposition as follows:

President: Kerry Weste Vice-president: Natalie Wade

Secretary: Sangeeta Sharmin

Treasurer: Katherine Hinton

Ordinary members (Governance) Nominations

- (i) Anthony Hallal
- (ii) Nicholas Stewart
- (iii) Madeleine Bridgett
- (iv) Jessica Bayley
- (v) Khanh Hoang
- 6. To confirm nominees from State and Territory Committees

The following convenors were confirmed:

(a) ACT

- (i) Naomi Gould
- (b) New South Wales
 - (i) Sangeeta Sharmin
 - (ii) Nameeta Chandra
 - (iii) Manny Zhang
 - (iv) Sarah Schwartz
- (b) Northern Territory
 - (i) Anneke Bossard
- (c) Queensland
 - (i) Inez Botta-Stanwell
 - (ii) Kate Marchesi
- (d) South Australia
 - (i) Alexandra Lontos
- (e) Tasmania
 - (i) Vacant
- (f) Victoria
 - (i) Bethany Moore
 - (ii) Adaena Sinclair-Blakemore
- (g) Western Australia
 - (i) Megan Healy
 - (ii) Alexandra Bishop
- 7. To confirm appointments to thematic Sub-Committees

The following co-chairs were confirmed:

- (a) Business and Human Rights
 - (i) Madeleine Bridgett
- (b) Child Rights
 - (i) Rita Shackel
 - (ii) Kerry Weste

- (c) Disability Rights
 - (i) Natalie Wade
 - (ii) Susan Peukert
- (d) Economic Social and Cultural Rights
 - (i) Charlie Faulder
- (e) Freedoms
 - (i) Vacant
- (f) Human Right Act
 - (i) Emma Phillips
- (g) Indigenous Rights
 - (i) Sonali Seneviratne
 - (ii) Johanna Byrne
- (h) LGBTI
 - (i) Nicholas Stewart
 - (ii) Georgia Burke
- (i) Refugees
 - (i) Jessica Bayley
- (j) Women and Girls
 - (i) Kate Marchesi
- 8. Other business

Meeting closed 7:29pm AEST