

# MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 18 April 2017 at 7:00pm AEST

#### 1 Attendance

Queensland - Benedict Coyne, Jarrah Ekstein, Rhys, Elliott, Phoebe, Kathryn Cramp and Mia Palmer.

Northern Territory - Rachana Rajan.

Western Australia - Verity Long-Droppert.

South Australia - Rebecca, Esther Pearson, Natalie Wade.

Victoria - Katherine Hinton

Tasmania - Nicole Sommer, Amelia.

New South Wales - Scott Cosgriff, Tamsin Clarke, Nathan Kennedy, Khanh Hoang, Kerry Weste, Anastasia, Anna Kerr, Nicholas Stewart, Amy Sinclair.

# 2 Apologies

Rita Shackel, Amy Maguire.

# 3 Minutes

That the minutes of the last annual general meeting be approved.

Moved by Benedict and seconded by Jarrah, motion carried.

## 4 Executive reports

Reports by the treasurer, secretary and president were tabled.

The treasurer reported that the year had been a great one for revenue but fundraising had been down. She noted there had been no annual dinner. The chair acknowledged Katherine's work as treasurer and also noted that the organisation had changed banks from Westpac to Bank Australia. The Chair also acknowledged pro bono support of Pitcher Partners.

The secretary reported that membership had increased to 688 which was an increase from 348 the previous year and there had also been an increase in Twitter followers and likes on

the Facebook page. The secretary outlined the nominations for the national committee and state convenors as set out in his report.

The chair thanked Scott for his service as secretary as he was resigning from the position.

The president reported that the organisation was expanding and he described the organisation as the leading voice for human rights in Australia. He acknowledged the very helpful work of Matt as media consultant.

He noted that Natalie Wade had been awarded a young lawyer award from the Law Council and the South Australian Law Society. He acknowledged the fantastic work of Natalie and the disability rights sub-committee.

He singled out Tamsin Clark describing her as a brilliant asset for the organisation.

He also acknowledged the expertise of Khanh and Rebecca in the refugee space, describing them as productive and innovative.

He noted how wonderful it was to have Robyn Banks as part of the *Human Rights Act* sub-committee and he noted that the Shadow Attorney General, Mark Dreyfus and Tanya Plibersek were very supportive of the *Human Rights Act*.

He acknowledged the work of Amy Sinclair with the Business and Human Rights sub-committee and how she had spearheaded the movement in Australia and attended Geneva and convened round tables. He noted he was sad to see her stepping down and thanked her for her efforts.

He also noted the outstanding work of the chairs of the Indigenous sub-committee, LGBTI sub-committee and the Women and Girls Rights sub-committee and the work of the State and Territory convenors. He also made special mention of vice president Kerry Weste and her tireless efforts for the organisation.

#### 5 Office bearers

Without opposition the following were elected to the executive:

Benedict Coyne as president Kerry West as vice president Nathan Kennedy as secretary Katherine as treasurer

In the absence of nominations for the ordinary member positions they were opened to the floor and Katherine Cramp nominated herself and was accepted unopposed.

### 6 General business

The chair indicated a goal to increase members to 1,500 this year and also aims to restructure the governance of the organisation.

15688131\_1