

ALHR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

28 March 2011

SECRETARY'S REPORT

1. Membership of ALHR

- 1.1 Since the last AGM on 24 March 2010, 268 lawyers from all over Australia have become members of ALHR.
- 1.2 There have been changes to the composition of ALHR's membership. Reflecting an ongoing trend, the proportion of NSW members has decreased (from 36% to 34%, it was 38% in 2008 and 43.8% in 2007). There has been a corresponding increase in the proportion of members from WA (from 6% to 7%), QLD (from 20% to 21%) and the NT (from 0% to 0.5%). These changes must be seen to reflect the work of the convenors in those states.



1.3 The distribution of members by state is as follows:

1.4 About half of ALHR's membership comprises solicitors admitted to practice, including solicitors in private and public practice, barristers, judicial officers and non-practising lawyers. The other half of ALHR's membership comprises law students or graduates, including undergraduates, post-graduates, interns, associates and articled clerks. ALHR also has nearly 100 academic lawyer members.

1.5 We expect that many of our "lawyer in training" members are no longer students. We would be interested to know what members are doing now. If you have not updated your membership information since joining ALHR, please do so by going to the "members" section of our website.

2. Membership of National Committee

- 2.1 Last year's annual general meeting was held on 24 March 2010. The following people were elected to ALHR's national committee at that meeting:
 - (a) President: Stephen Keim SC (QLD)
 - (b) Treasurer: Eve Lester (VIC)
 - (c) Secretary: Natasha Case (NSW)
 - (d) Ordinary members: Matthew Zagor (ACT), Arjuna Dibley (ACT), Mary Anne Kenny (WA), Riley Power (QLD), Adam McLean (VIC), Elena Rose (ACT).
- 2.2 The State Convenors were nominated at the AGM as follows:
 - (a) New South Wales Edwina MacDonald and Dr Linda Tucker
 - (b) Victoria Lily Tsen and Many Lister
 - (c) Western Australia N/A
 - (d) ACT Gayatri Nair and Anna Haynes
 - (e) QLD Jamie Nuich
 - (f) SA Laura Grenfell
- 2.3 During the year, the following chapters of ALHR gained new convenors:
 - (a) WA Tiffany Henderson and Breony Allen
 - (b) International Phillip Tahmindjis
 - (c) NT Adrienne Walters and Claire Henderson.
- 2.4 In addition, this year's notice of AGM garnered a new convenor for Tasmania.
- 2.5 In accordance with ALHR's Rules, the following people have nominated as convenors/alternates for 2011:
 - (a) New South Wales Catherine Renshaw, Kate Schuetze, Gayatri Nair
 - (b) Victoria Lily Tsen and Mandy Lister
 - (c) ACT Anna Haynes and Suzanne Akila
 - (d) QLD Jamie Nuich and Alex McKean
 - (e) SA N/A

- (f) WA Tiffany Henderson and Breony Allen
- (g) International Phillip Tahmindjis
- (h) NT Adrienne Walters and Claire Henderson
- (i) TAS Madeleine Ogilvie.
- 2.6 The rules require that the executive positions of President, Treasurer and Secretary be vacated before the AGM as well as the two longest-serving national committee members.
- 2.7 All three of the current office bearers have nominated for their positions.
- 2.8 The two longest-serving general members of the committee have not stepped down this year because three other ordinary members notified the committee that they would not be able to continue in their roles in 2011. As these three are not the longest-serving members of the committee, in the interests of continuity, the committee has not observed the rule requiring the oldest two members of the committee to step down this year. It is with many thanks that the ALHR national committee bids farewell and best wishes to general members Elena Rose, Riley Power and Arjuna Dibley, and our hope that they continue to share their time and efforts with ALHR when they are able.
- 2.9 The following nominations were received for the general member positions on the national committee:
 - (a) Liz Snell (NSW);
 - (b) Edwina MacDonald (NSW).
- 2.10 Several nomination forms were received out of time. Thanks to those who indicated their willingness to get involved with the national committee; I hope that you still consider channelling your energies into the State and Territory chapter committees.
- 2.11 ACT convenor, Anna Haynes, will be retiring from that role in coming months but has nominated as ACT convenor for the AGM in the interests of continuity. Anna has indicated that she would be happy to be appointed to the vacant general member position on the national committee once she has stepped down from her role as ACT convenor.

Natasha Case Secretary 27 March 2011