

## **MINUTES OF** ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 24 March 2010

Meeting opened

1.	Meeting opened
1.1	The meeting opened at 5.15pm (Eastern Summer Time).
2.	Apologies
2.1	Anna Haynes, Belinda Barnard, Mary Anne Kenny, Diane Otto, Adam McLean, Linda Tucker
3.	Attendance
3.1	Stephen Keim SC, Carla Klease, Jamie Nuich, Riley Power, Sue Harris Rimmer, Gayatri Nair, Jess Casben, Arjuna Dibley, Eve Lester, Mandy Lister, Lily Tsen, Laura Grenfell, Amy Brady, Lizzie Simpson, Brenda Cronson, Edwina McDonald, Natasha Case, Junko Katsuda, Matthew Zagor
4.	Welcome and Introductions
4.1	Sue Harris Rimmer (President) chaired and welcomed.
5.	Previous minutes
5.1	Eve Lester moved that the minutes of the previous annual general meeting held on 16 March 2009 be accepted as true and correct. The motion was seconded by Jessica Casben and carried.
6.	Reports
6.1	President's Report
	Sue Harris Rimmer tabled the President's Report and spoke to it.

Sue noted that she would like to have reflected in the report on the contribution of Craig Lenehan over a very many years and our sadness at his resignation.

Matthew Zagor moved that the President's Report be accepted. The motion was seconded by Lizzie Simpson Carried.

6.2 Treasurer's Report

Natasha Case tabled the Treasurer's Report and Financial Statement and spoke to it. Natasha noted that while she was able to reconcile this year's accounts, she was not able to reconcile it against last year's report. She will make this discrepancy (of some \$109) known to our auditors. Natasha will follow up on the un-presented cheques.

Lizzie Simpson moved that the Treasurer's Report and Financial Statement be accepted. Seconded by Matthew Zagor. Carried.

6.3 Secretary's Report

Carla Klease tabled the Secretary's Report and spoke to it. Matthew Zagor moved that the Secretary's Report be accepted. The motion was seconded by Lizzie Simpson and carried.

- 7. Election of office bearers and ordinary members
- 7.1 Sue Harris Rimmer, as outgoing President, took the role of returning officer.
- 7.2 She noted the following:
  - (a) The rules at clause 15(e) indicates that all of the office bearers being the President, Secretary and Treasurer—and one third of ordinary members of the National Committee (up to a total of three) retire at the AGM. Clause 15(f) indicates it is the longest serving members who are to retire.
  - (b) This year, we have received resignations from Belinda Barnard, Amy Brady, Jess Casben and Craig Lenehan. This fills the quota required under the rules, plus one.
  - (c) As a result, Matthew Zagor, Arjuna Dibley and Mary Anne Kenny remain as ordinary national committee members.
  - (d) This means that the following vacancies are to be filled at the AGM:
    - (i) President;
    - (ii) Secretary
    - (iii) Treasurer;
    - (iv) Three ordinary members.
  - (e) No election is required because the nominations received by the closing date (being 7 days prior to the election, 17 March 2010) equal the positions vacant.

- 7.3 The nominations received are as follows:
  - (a) President one nomination for President was received from Stephen Keim SC.
  - (b) Treasurer one nomination for Treasurer was received from Eve Lester
  - (c) Secretary one nomination for Secretary was received from Natasha Case
  - (d) Ordinary member three nominations for ordinary member of national committee were received from Adam McLean, Riley Power and Elena Rose.
- 7.4 Sue Harris Rimmer declared the positions filled as per the nominations in the immediately preceding paragraph.
- 7.5 Further, she noted that the Secretary has been advised of the following nominees for State Convenor from each established State Committee:
  - (a) New South Wales Edwina McDonald and Linda Tucker
  - (b) Victoria Mandy Lister and Lily Tsen
  - (c) Western Australia vacant
  - (d) ACT Gayatri Nair and Anna Haynes
  - (e) QLD Jamie Nuich
  - (f) SA Laura Grenfell
- 7.6 At the conclusion of the election, Sue stood down as returning officer and chair of the meeting.
- 8. Other business
- 8.1 A number of members spoke in thanks for Sue, Carla and others who are retiring. Stephen Keim SC also spoke of his vision for 2010. A committee meeting will be held next Wednesday at 6pm ESST.
- 9. Meeting closed at 6.50pm. Eastern Summer Time